Skip Navigation View Sitemap

Discover the Four Cs of a Diamond

Carat weight, Color grade, Clarity grade, Cut grade

Diamonds – nature's sparkling wonders ... Diamonds have fascinated humankind for centuries. But did you know, that until the middle of the twentieth century, there was no agreed-upon standard by which diamonds could be judged? The organization GIA – where we learned everything about the subject of diamonds – created the first, and now globally accepted standard for describing diamonds: Color, Clarity, Cut, and Carat Weight.

Today, the 4 Cs of Diamond Quality is the universal method for assessing the quality of any diamond, anywhere in the world. The creation of the Diamond 4 Cs meant two very important things: diamond quality could be communicated in a universal language, and diamond customers could now know exactly what they were about to purchase.

We get hard-to-find diamonds for your project

At Sherwood Bridge Diamonds we prove our stones at GIA. As the creator of the Diamond 4 Cs and the International Diamond Grading System™, GIA is not only a global authority but the world’s trusted source for an unbiased assessment. For each customer, we sort hard-to-find diamonds for their project. Knowing the 4 Cs of diamond quality will help you learn how to purchase the right diamond. This basic knowledge will not only unlock the mystery of a diamond’s quality but will also help you understand a diamond’s value and price.

As your personal diamond-buying guide, an educated jeweler will not only explain the 4 Cs of Diamond Quality to you but will also be able to demonstrate the differences between apparently similar stones. Your jeweler will encourage you to compare the number of diamonds that fall in your budget.

We would be happy to educate our customers about the Four Cs in person. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch with us and set up an appointment.

Back to top